The Painting and Decorating Association (PDA) has introduced a new leadership structure, developed to meet the growing needs of industry.

A new management board has been developed to play a greater role in setting the direction of the trade body and to give a voice to the different levels of membership within.

The move sees the association switch from its previous structure of a council led by a national president - a format which has been in place for more than 100 years - to the new arrangement.

There are eight elected members on the management board, each representing the different sizes of business in the industry, from multi-million-pound contractors, small companies and owner-led businesses.

The members are Stuart Yates, Chris Kerfoot, Des Cass, Kelly Young, Stephen Bagnall, Andrew Havard, Martin Hillyard and Bob Smith.

They will be working closely with PDA chief executive Neil Ogilvie and the team at the association's Nuneaton headquarters, to oversee a range of activities, including promoting the opportunities for new members, building membership value and raising awareness of the Association's public profile.

Attracting new recruits into the painting and decorating industry and working closely with colleges, training providers and manufacturers are also on the agenda.

Neil Ogilvie said: "We are pressing forward with this change to ensure our work meets the needs of the industry and that the association meets the needs of painters and decorators in a changing world.

"We are also taking steps to promote our industry to the young people of today and let them know that they can achieve a stable, interesting and well-respected career as a professional painter and decorator."

The new PDA management board 


Representing Categories 1 & 2


  Stuart Yates - Stuart Yates Decor

  Previously elected from National Council



   Chris Kerfoot – Chris Kerfoot Painters and Decorators











   Des Cass – D Cass and Son









Representing Categories 3 & 4


   Kelly Young - Medusa Decor Ltd 








Representing Categories 5 & 6



   Stephen Bagnall – Bagnalls, Commercial Painting & Decorating Contractors












   Andrew Havard – Ian Williams Ltd
















   Martin Hillyard – Jack Tighe Decorating Ltd










National Honorary Treasurer




   Bob Smith